Braide, Omotosho, others get NHEA 2022 recognitions

  • Home
  • News
  • Braide, Omotosho, others get NHEA 2022 recognitions

The Nigerian Healthcare Excellence Award (NHEA) will tomorrow confer Lifetime Achievement awards on Prof. Ekanem Braide, Theophilus Omotosho, and Prof Joseph Aina while Prof Ohwofiemu Nwariaku will be given the Diaspora Excellence awards at Eko Hotels and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos.

According to a statement by Moses Braimah, NHEA Director of Communication, Marketing and Strategy, the awardees are distinguished healthcare personalities who have contributed to good health, and treatment of various diseases.

“We are excited and very pleased with these distinguished healthcare personalities that have made significant contributions to the promotion of good health, knowledge and treatments of various forms of ailments within and outside the country,” says Dr. Shola Alabi, NHEA Project Coordinator.

Braide, an accomplished parasitologist/epidemiologist and academic, is the Pro-Chancellor of Arthur Jarvis University, Akpabuyo, former Vice Chancellor of Cross River State University of Technology (CRUTECH) Calabar, and pioneer Vice Chancellor, Federal University, Lafia.

She holds a Bachelors degree in Zoology (Obafemi Awolowo University), as well as Masters and Doctorate degrees in Parasitology/Epidemiology from Cornell, United States. She also holds a certificate in Epidemiological Methods from Southampton University. She has taught in several institutions.

Aina is a distinguished nurse and an academic, who has touched many lives and helped to shape the profession.

He started his nursing training at the Seventh-Day Adventist Hospital School of Nursing, Ile-Ife. He later got his Bachelor of Science (BSc) in Nursing from to the State University of New York at Stony Brook.

Omotosho is an industrialist, philanthropist and pharmacist. He started Bond Chemists, which later metamorphosed into Bond Chemical Industries Limited and now Bond Group with interest in diverse sectors. He has worked as a pharmacist with highly reputable multinational organisations both at home in Nigeria and abroad.

He is a member of many professional bodies such as the Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain (MRPHARMS); and Fellow, Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (FPSN).

Nwariaku has MBBS from the University of Ibadan and is working at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Centre (UTSW), Dallas, Texas, where he serves as the Malcom O. Perry Professor of Surgery and Executive Vice Chair in the Department of Surgery, as well as Associate Dean for Global Health at the UTSW medical school.

He is a fellow of the American College of Surgeons and a past president of the Association of Academic Surgery. He has been appointed as Chair of the Department of Surgery at the Spencer Fox Eccles School of Medicine at the University of Utah with effect from July 1, 2022.

Voting for the awards commenced on June 7 on for over 156 nominees in about 31 award categories and ended ended on June 21 – two days preceding the awards.

At vero eos et accusamus et iusto odio digni goikussimos ducimus qui to bonfo blanditiis praese. Ntium voluum deleniti atque.

Melbourne, Australia
(Sat - Thursday)
(10am - 05 pm)