Verghese, Ayebae, Amazigo Bag 2024 NHEA Lifetime Achievement Awards

  • Home
  • News
  • Verghese, Ayebae, Amazigo Bag 2024 NHEA Lifetime Achievement Awards

In recognition of their outstanding contributions to pharmaceutical practice and public health in Nigeria respectively, Chief Varkey Verghese, founder, JAWA Group of Companies; Dr Fidelis Ayebae, managing director, Fidson Healthcare Plc, and Prof (Mrs) Uche Veronica Amazigo, a distinguished medical parasitologist and public health specialist, have been honoured with the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award by the organisers of the annual Nigerian Healthcare Excellence Award (NHEA).

The event, which held at the Convention Hall of the prestigious Eko Hotel & Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos, on 21 June, attracted several notable personalities in both the medical and the pharmaceutical industries.

Speaking during the presentation ceremony, the Chairman, Advisory Board of NHEA, Dr Anthony Omolola, applauded the contributions of all the nominees and winners to the development of the healthcare sector in the country, adding that over the years, NHEA has continued to strive to deliver new and creative ways to honour excellence across the healthcare space.

He noted that the theme of this year’s event, “Navigating tomorrow: Accelerating strategies for healthcare transformation” aligns seamlessly with Nigeria’s healthcare transformation plan, adding that for over a decade, the NHEA has been dedicated to celebrating and promoting excellence within the healthcare sector.

It would be recalled that the 2015 Lifetime Achievement Awards of the NHEA were won by the duo of Pharm (Sir) Ifeanyi Atueyi, managing director of Pharmanews Limited and Olorogun (Dr) Sonny Kuku, a co-founder of the Eko Hospital.

In other categories of the award for this year, Fidson Healthcare was honoured as Pharmaceutical Manufacturing Company of the Year, JNCI won the Hospital Equipment Marketing Company of the Year, Medplus Pharmacy won the Pharmaceutical Retail Outlet of the Year, while Alpha Pharmacy & Stores Ltd won the Community Pharmacy of the Year Award.

Several other organisations continued their winning streaks including Clinix Healthcare which emerged the Radiology Service Provider of the Year, Eye Foundation Hospital, which emerged Eye Care Service Provider of the Year, among many others.

However, there was an upset in the category of the Healthcare Media Excellence Award-Print, as Guardian Newspaper won this year’s award.

At vero eos et accusamus et iusto odio digni goikussimos ducimus qui to bonfo blanditiis praese. Ntium voluum deleniti atque.

Melbourne, Australia
(Sat - Thursday)
(10am - 05 pm)